Gaston County


Planning and Development Services

Long Range Planning and Environmental Services - Flood Hazards

Gaston County and other local Governments in the County participate in the National Flood Insurance Program, (NFIP), which is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Division of the US Department of Homeland Security, (DHS).

The NFIP requires Communities that participate in its Flood Insurance Program adopt and enforce Flood Damage Prevention Regulations for the mitigation of future damages from flooding within the community. The County's current Flood Regulations became effective on January 22, 2009 as Chapter #16 of the County's Unified Development Ordinance. FEMA also require that participating local governments adopt the current Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) which are compiled by FEMA, to define flood prone areas so that development within these areas may be limited or controlled in order to lessen flood damage.

Current Gaston County Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs)

You may view the current FIRM data (Flood Hazard Boundaries) using:

Other Documents and Forms

** Please note that a Floodplain Development Permit, Elevation Certificate and site plan are required prior to any development activity or manmade change within a flood hazard area.

Benefits of NFIP Participation

The benefits of participating in the NFIP include, but not limited to: (1) Flood Insurance available within the community, (2) Availability of certain Federal loans such as VA, FHA, SBA, etc. which would otherwise be denied, (3) Allow certain federal grant funds within the community which otherwise would not be available. In return the County must adopt and enforce approved minimum floodplain regulations, which are designed to prevent flood damage.

Community Rating System (CRS) Participation

Gaston County has requested participation in FEMA’s Community Rating System (CRS). With the County’s participation in the NFIP, the County is eligible to participate in the Community Rating System. By doing so, the County is rated by a point system for programs and efforts to reduce flooding hazards and to educate the public. Depending on the points received the County will be classed from 10 to 1, with 1 being the highest class. Should the County receive a Class 9 rating, residents (County flood jurisdiction only) could receive a 5% discount on Flood Insurance Premiums. Gaston County is expected to receive its initial CRS rating in February of March of 2011.