What are the types of foster care?

Gaston Department of Health and Human Services has 3 types of Foster Homes:

  • Family Foster Homes provide care of a child, incorporating the child as a part of the family until permanency can be obtained. This could be a few days to a year or longer.
  • Emergency/Respite Foster Homes provide care for a child for a brief period of time. The reasons vary from pending relative home studies, emergency removal by protective services, an existing placement may need a break or have a family emergency, or the current placement disrupts.
  • 18 to 21 Program Foster Homes provide housing for a foster youth that is transitioning from the foster care system to adulthood. Youth in the 18 to 21 program are typically attending college/technical school or have a job. These youth need someone to mentor, encourage and support them as they work to become productive members of society.

Show All Answers

1. Why are children in Foster Care?
2. What is the goal of Foster Care?
3. What happens when a child cannot be reunified with their parents?
4. Who can become a foster parent?
5. How do I get started?
6. What are the types of foster care?