Weather Loading...
Font Size

About Us facebook

Our office is responsible for conducting all elections held in Gaston County. Locally, we administer State election laws. Our principal functions include establishing election precincts and voting sites, appointing and training precinct officials, preparing and distributing ballots, voting equipment, canvassing and certifying the ballots cast in elections, and investigating any voting irregularities. We maintain voter registration for Gaston County and provide public information on voters and elections.

Each County in North Carolina has a Board of Elections. It is a five person board in which 4 members are appointed every two years by the State Board of Elections with the Chairman being appointed by the governor.

The local political parties will submit three names to the State political party chairman. North Carolina General Statute 163A-766(d) states “The State chairman of each political party shall have the right to recommend to the State Board of Elections three registered voters in each county for appointment to the board of elections for that county. If such recommendations are received by the Board 15 or more days before the last Tuesday in June, and each two years thereafter, it shall be the duty of the State Board of Elections to appoint the county boards from the names thus recommended.”

Once appointed, County Board members take an oath and begin their two year terms Tuesday following the third Monday in July in odd-numbered years. No more than two members of the County Board of Elections shall belong to the same political party. The Board oversees the functions of our offices and hires a Director to administer all duties.

Board Members for Term 2019-2020:
James W. Ragan (D) – Chair
Sheena Amos (R) – Secretary
Helen O’Daly (R) - Member
Nancy C. Moore (D) - Member
Chris Thomason (D) – Member

Adam Ragan – Director of Elections
Mary Jane Garver – Deputy Director of Elections
Karen Foster – Elections Specialist
Kayla Brack – Elections Specialist
Raquel Bushnell – Elections Clerk
Lesley Mansfield  – Elections Clerk

(from left, seated):  Helen O’Daly, James W. Ragan, Chris Thomason (from left, standing):  Nancy C. Moore, Sheena Amos
(from left, seated):  Helen O’Daly, James W. Ragan, Chris Thomason
(from left, standing):  Nancy C. Moore, Sheena Amos