Weather Loading...
Font Size

Gaston County Board of Commissioners Names New Chair, Vice-Chair for Year Ahead

Chairman Tom KeigherGASTONIA, N.C. – At its annual organizational meeting Monday morning, the Gaston County Board of Commissioners named its longest serving member – Commissioner Tom Keigher – as chair for the next year.

Commissioner Allen Fraley, who represents the Cherryville Township, was named Vice Chair.

Monday also saw the swearing in of Commissioner Kim Johnson, who replaces Jack Brown on the board as one of two individuals representing the Gastonia Township. Keigher serves as the Gastonia Township’s other representative and is in the middle of his sixth term on the board. This will be his fourth time serving as chair.

Crowders Mountain Township Commissioner Bob Hovis and South Point Township Commissioner Ronnie Worley were each sworn in to new four-year terms, having run unopposed in the general election. Fraley will also serve another four years after also running unopposed.

Kim Johnson taking oathJohnson is the first woman to serve on the board in more than a decade and only the sixth in the board’s history.

Monday’s induction ceremony also saw Register of Deeds Susan Lockridge and Soil and Water Conservation District Board Member Roger Hurst take their respective oaths of office.